Activities > WWWforEurope Activities 2015 > Press Conference at EFA 2015

WWWforEurope at European Forum Alpbach 2015


WWWforEurope at European Forum Alpbach 2015

Conference topic: InEquality

Alpbach, Austria, 25 August - 4 September 2015



Mathilde Mesnard (OECD), Gunilla Almgren (UEAPME), Karl Aiginger (WIFO), Franz Fischler (European Forum Alpbach)

Urgent change is needed - Welfare, Wealth and Work for Europe

On Thursday the 3rd September 2015 a press conference on
Restarting growth in Europe - But this time differently
was held at the
Pressezentrum Congress Centrum Alpbach
from 10:30 a.m. till 11:00 a.m.

undefinedDownload the press release

undefinedWWWforEurope at the European Forum Alpbach 2015

The dicussants were:

Karl Aiginger (Director, WIFO)
Franz Fischler (former EC commissioner)
Gunilla Almgren (UEAPME)
Mathilde Mesnard (OECD)

Funded by the European Commission within its 7th Framework Programme, a consortium of 34 scientific institutions from 12 EU countries was established in April 2012 to work on the foundations for a new socio-ecological growth path for Europe: A growth path which aims at achieving a high level of economic dynamics, social inclusion and environmental sustainability simultaneously.

The research project Welfare, Wealth and Work for Europe - WWWforEurope - is coordinated by the Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO) under the guidance of Karl Aiginger, director of WIFO. A high ranking scientific board (including inter alia Kenneth Joseph Arrow, Tony Atkinson, Graciela Chichilnisky, Barry Eichengreen, Jean-Paul Fitoussi, Paul de Grauwe, Jeffrey Sachs) as well as a policy board (including inter alia Gunilla Almgren, Guiliano Amato, Franz Fischler, Helga Nowotny, Juliet Schor, Bernadette Ségol) act in an advisory capacity.

Since the start of the program more than 100 scientific papers have been produced. It is now time to draw first conclusions concerning the new growth strategy.

undefinedDownload the press release

undefinedWWWforEurope at the European Forum Alpbach 2015